Every Exam PrepFREE EXAM PREP
Ask AI

SIE Requirements (2026): Who Qualifies & How

Written by Every Exam Prep Editorial TeamSource and review policyPublished September 16, 2026
Verified against the official exam documentation

The SIE has the shortest eligibility list of any FINRA exam. You must be 18 or older. That is the whole barrier.

Everything people assume is required is not. Association with a firm is not required to take the SIE, and there is no prerequisite exam. FINRA Rule 1210 states that individuals who are not associated persons shall also be eligible to take the SIE — which is the clause that makes it the one securities exam you can sit before anyone has hired you.

What is and is not required

RequirementApplies?
Minimum age 18Yes
Exam fee of $100Yes
Sponsoring firmNo
Prerequisite examNo
Degree or courseworkNot stated in the cited source
Prior industry experienceNot stated in the cited source

The last two rows are honest gaps rather than a hidden yes. FINRA's eligibility statement is about age and association; it does not impose an education or experience condition, and we are not going to invent one to fill a table cell.

What passing does and does not give you

This is where most candidates misread the credential. Passing the SIE alone does not qualify an individual for registration with FINRA. It is a co-requisite for representative-level exams — you pass the SIE and a representative exam such as the Series 7, and only then does registration follow.

That second exam is where the employer comes back in. The Series 7 does require a sponsoring firm to register you, so the practical shape of the path is: SIE alone, then Series 7 with a firm behind you.

Your SIE result waits for that firm. A passing result remains valid for four years, which is long enough to sit the exam as a student, finish a degree, and still arrive at your first securities job with half the qualification already done.

The exam you are registering for

75 scored questions, 105 minutes, 70% to pass. Five unscored pretest items are mixed in, so 80 questions appear on screen.

The content requirement worth knowing before you register is the weighting. Understanding Products and Their Risks is 33 of the 75 scored questions against 12 for Knowledge of Capital Markets — so if you are deciding whether you are ready to register, the honest test is whether you understand products and their risks, not whether you have memorised the regulatory framework.

What to do next

  1. Confirm you are 18 or older. If you are, you are eligible today.
  2. Budget $100 for the exam. There is nothing else you are required to buy.
  3. Sit a full practice exam before you schedule, and check your products-and-risks section specifically.
  4. Schedule once that section is holding up — not before.

Our free SIE practice test is written to the current content outline and needs no account, which makes step 3 free.

Original source visualizations

What the cited data shows

Built from the official facts cited in this article. Missing values are omitted, not estimated.

Official fee breakdown
ItemAmountSource
Exam Fee 2026$100FINRA
Source-backed application checkpoints
  1. 1Eligibility Min Age: 18 years (FINRA)
  2. 2Eligibility Open to Public: individuals who are not associated persons shall also be eligible to take the SIE (FINRA)

Confirm the final sequence with the cited authority; provider and jurisdiction procedures can change.

Ready to test yourself?

Free SIE practice test — 709 questions, instant feedback. No signup required.

Start practicing →

Sources

  1. 1.Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Content OutlineFINRA (accessed Jul 23, 2026)
  2. 2.Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) ExamFINRA (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
  3. 3.FINRA Rule 1210 — Registration Requirements (SIE Eligibility)FINRA (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
  4. 4.Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Examination — Content OutlineFINRA (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
  5. 5.SIE Content Outline — Section WeightingFINRA (accessed Jul 18, 2026)

Frequently asked questions

What do you need to take the SIE exam?

To be 18 or older, and $100 for the fee. Association with a firm is not required and there is no prerequisite exam, so there is nothing else you must arrange first.

Do I need a sponsoring firm for the SIE?

No. FINRA Rule 1210 provides that individuals who are not associated persons are also eligible to take the SIE. That is what separates it from the representative-level exams — the Series 7 does require a sponsoring firm.

Is there an education requirement?

The cited FINRA eligibility statement covers age and association, and does not impose an education or experience condition. We do not state one that the source does not.

Does passing the SIE make me registered?

No. Passing the SIE alone does not qualify an individual for registration with FINRA. It is a co-requisite for representative-level exams — you pass the SIE and an exam such as the Series 7, and registration follows from the pair.

How long is a passing SIE result good for?

Four years. That is long enough to sit it as a student, finish a degree, and still arrive at a first securities job with half the qualification already done.

How do I know I am ready to register?

Check the heaviest section rather than your overall feel. Understanding Products and Their Risks is 33 of the 75 scored questions against 12 for Knowledge of Capital Markets, so readiness on products is what actually predicts the result.