The often-quoted 74% SIE pass rate is a historical figure from 2019, not a current 2026 rate. In her May 22, 2019 FINRA conference report, Knopman Marks faculty member Marcia Larson reported that FINRA presented 29,181 SIE exams taken and a 74% pass rate through March 31, 2019, falling to about 72% by the end of April. This is a prep provider’s firsthand conference report, not a current FINRA-hosted statistics table.
On September 6, 2026, the FINRA SIE exam page and qualification-exam FAQ reviewed for this article did not provide a current annual pass-rate series. That limited finding does not mean FINRA never disclosed a rate elsewhere. The 2019 snapshot cannot be applied to today’s candidates, current question format or your own probability of passing.
So treat 74% for what it is: a single seven-year-old snapshot from the exam's first months, when the candidate pool looked different than it does now. Worth knowing; not worth planning around. What FINRA publishes continuously is exactly how the exam is scored — and that gives you a concrete, fixed target to train against.
How the SIE is scored
The passing score is 70. You'll see 80 questions in total: 75 scored questions plus 5 unscored pretest items that FINRA mixes in to trial future questions. The pretest load was cut from 10 items to 5 effective October 27, 2025 — so older prep materials that still describe 10 pretest items are describing the previous format, not the one you'll sit. You get 1 hour and 45 minutes — 105 minutes — of testing time.
Because the 5 pretest questions are indistinguishable from scored ones, treat every question as if it counts. You can't afford to write one off as "probably experimental."
Where the questions come from
The 75 scored questions are not spread evenly. Knowledge of Capital Markets accounts for 12 scored questions, while Understanding Products and Their Risks is the heavyweight at 33 scored questions — by far the largest section of the exam. The remaining sections cover trading, customer accounts and prohibited activities, and the regulatory framework. If your study time is limited, product knowledge — equities, debt, options, packaged products, and the risks attached to each — is where preparation pays off fastest.
Who takes the SIE — and why that matters for pass rates
The SIE is deliberately open: association with a firm is not required to take it, and there is no prerequisite exam. Students, career changers, and people testing the waters all sit for it alongside new hires at broker-dealers. That wide-open candidate pool is one reason any unofficial pass-rate estimate is so hard to interpret — it averages fully sponsored trainees against walk-in candidates studying on their own timeline, and none of them are obligated to report their result to anyone.
Two structural details matter more than any estimate. First, passing the SIE alone does not qualify you for registration with FINRA — it is the foundation, and representative-level exams build on it: the SIE is a co-requisite for exams such as the Series 7. Second, a passing SIE result stays valid for four years, which gives you a long runway to land a sponsoring firm and complete your top-off exam.
What an attempt costs
The exam fee is $100 in 2026, up from $80 in 2025.
How to improve your odds
With no current annual pass-rate table on the FINRA pages reviewed, aim at the numbers that are official: 70 to pass, 75 scored questions, 105 minutes on the clock.
- Weight product knowledge heavily. With 33 of the 75 scored questions on products and their risks, that single section can carry you past the passing line — or hold you under it.
- Rehearse the pace. Practice full-length, timed runs, not casual untimed review.
- Don't burn your attempt on a guess about readiness. Take a free SIE practice exam under timed conditions, and treat a consistent, comfortable margin above 70 as your green light to book.
- Plan the next step now. If your goal is a full securities career, the SIE is stage one — see how the numbers change at the top-off level in our Series 7 pass rate breakdown.
A historical cohort rate cannot decide when an individual is ready to book.
What the cited data shows
The charts below use only figures from the sources this article cites. A chart is left out where no source publishes the figure.
| Document | Effective date | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| FINRA: FINRA Forward Rule Modernization Continues | 2025-10-27 | 2026-07-23 |
| FINRA: FINRA Qualification Examination Fee Adjustment Schedule | 2026-01-01 | 2026-07-23 |
| FINRA: FINRA Rule 1210 — Registration Requirements (SIE Eligibility) | Not stated | 2026-07-18 |
| FINRA: Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Content Outline | 2025-10-27 | 2026-07-23 |
| FINRA: Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam | Not stated | 2026-07-18 |
| FINRA: Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Examination — Content Outline | Not stated | 2026-07-18 |
| FINRA: SIE Content Outline — Section Weighting | Not stated | 2026-07-18 |
| Knopman Marks — firsthand conference reporting: 2019 FINRA conference report by Marcia Larson | Not stated | 2026-09-06 |
Free SIE practice test — 709 questions, instant feedback. No signup required.
Sources
- 1.Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam — FINRA (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
- 2.Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Content Outline — FINRA (accessed Jul 23, 2026)
- 3.Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Examination — Content Outline — FINRA (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
- 4.FINRA Rule 1210 — Registration Requirements (SIE Eligibility) — FINRA (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
- 5.FINRA Qualification Examination Fee Adjustment Schedule — FINRA (accessed Jul 23, 2026)
- 6.SIE Content Outline — Section Weighting — FINRA (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
- 7.FINRA Forward Rule Modernization Continues — FINRA (accessed Jul 23, 2026)
- 8.2019 FINRA conference report by Marcia Larson — Knopman Marks — firsthand conference reporting (accessed Sep 6, 2026)
Frequently asked questions
What is the SIE pass rate?
A May 2019 Knopman Marks conference report attributes a 74% pass rate through March 31, 2019 to FINRA, and about 72% by the end of April. Those are historical figures, not a 2026 rate.
Is 74% the current SIE pass rate?
No. The cited figure is from 2019. The current FINRA SIE page and qualification FAQ reviewed September 6, 2026 did not provide a current annual pass-rate series.
How many questions are on the SIE now?
The current format has 75 scored questions and 5 unscored pretest questions, for 80 delivered questions in 105 minutes.
What is the SIE passing score?
FINRA lists a passing score of 70. A passing score and the percentage of an historical cohort that passed are different measures.
Does passing the SIE let me work as a registered securities representative?
Not by itself. FINRA registration also requires the applicable representative-level qualification and other registration requirements. Firm association is not required just to sit for the SIE.
