I took the SIE at a test center in March 2024 and passed on my first attempt. This article sets how I prepared next to what FINRA’s rules say today, a 40-hour plan built on FINRA’s outline, and what has changed since I took the exam.
Everything in the first person is my own recollection; the plan is an editorial plan built on FINRA’s numbers. Every section weight, question count, time limit, fee and waiting period is FINRA’s, taken from the SIE page, the October 2025 content outline, the fee schedule, Rule 1210 and FINRA’s July 1, 2026 notice. The hour split and the per-question pace are arithmetic on FINRA’s numbers and are labelled as such.
What the exam actually felt like
The thing I remember most is that the real exam felt more conceptual than calculation-heavy. Understanding the differences between products, their risks, the regulations, and what a registered representative can and cannot do mattered much more than memorizing every small detail.
FINRA’s content outline points the same way. Understanding Products and Their Risks is 44% of the exam, 33 of the 75 scored questions, and Trading, Customer Accounts and Prohibited Activities is 31%, or 23: the section where what a representative may and may not do is tested. Together that is 56 of the 75, and the plan below gives those two sections most of its hours.
How long I studied, and how long to plan
I prepared for about three to four weeks, usually studying an hour or two on weekdays and a little more on weekends. FINRA publishes no required or recommended study time, so a plan is more useful than a number. The one below is 40 hours; at two hours a weekday it takes four weeks, and at three hours a day, every day, just under two. It spends its hours in FINRA’s proportions:
| Section | FINRA’s share | Scored questions | Hours in a 40-hour plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| Understanding Products and Their Risks | 44% | 33 | 18 |
| Trading, Customer Accounts and Prohibited Activities | 31% | 23 | 12 |
| Knowledge of Capital Markets | 16% | 12 | 6 |
| Overview of the Regulatory Framework | 9% | 7 | 4 |
The shares and counts are FINRA’s; the hours are arithmetic on them, rounded so the four rows sum to 40. Products and Trading take 30 of the 40 hours. The Regulatory section is the smallest, at 7 questions, so the plan gives it an evening rather than nothing.
What I used, and what to add now
I mainly used Kaplan’s SIE study materials and practice exams, along with some free YouTube videos to review topics I wasn’t completely comfortable with, and I took several full-length practice tests during the final week. This site has no affiliate link to Kaplan; it is simply what I used.
Whatever you buy, two free resources are worth adding: FINRA’s own practice test, written in the style of the exam, and our free SIE practice questions, grouped under FINRA’s four outline sections so a section score maps straight back to the table above. If you want a structured paid course, the SIE prep course comparison lists the options and their prices.
What to study first: the 33 Products questions
Understanding Products and Their Risks (44%, 33 questions). Equity, debt, packaged products, options, annuities and the risks attached to each. Start with the equity and debt chapter, then packaged products, options and annuities. The liquidation order in a bankruptcy, the relationship between price and yield, and the difference between a general account and a separate account are three Products concepts to know cold. Drill the section on its own with the Products questions in our practice test before mixing sections.
Trading, Customer Accounts and Prohibited Activities (31%, 23 questions). Order types, account types, margin, and the prohibited-practice rules: front running, churning, insider trading, selling away. The orders, accounts and margin chapter and the prohibited activities chapter cover it. Every stop and stop-limit question you miss, rewrite as a timeline: trigger first, execution second.
Knowledge of Capital Markets (16%, 12 questions). Regulators, market structure, the primary and secondary markets, economic factors. The Capital Markets chapter sits third here, though it comes first in FINRA’s outline, because its 12 questions are fewer than either of the first two sections’.
Overview of the Regulatory Framework (9%, 7 questions). Registration, continuing education, the employee conduct rules. One evening with the regulatory framework chapter and the rules panel of the SIE cheat sheet.
Test center or online
I took the exam at a test center. I preferred a controlled environment, and I didn’t want to worry about technical issues with online proctoring. FINRA still offers both: enrollment is through FINRA, appointments are scheduled with Prometric, FINRA’s test delivery vendor, and the SIE page offers the choice of a Prometric test center or online delivery.
The mechanics to rehearse before test day
The October 2025 content outline sets the exam at 75 multiple-choice scored items plus 5 additional, unidentified pretest items that do not count toward the score, for 80 items in all, with 1 hour and 45 minutes to complete them. That is 105 minutes for 80 items, or about 79 seconds each. Nothing on screen marks a pretest item, so give every question the same effort and practise at the real pace with full-length tests.
A score of 70% is required to pass. Because FINRA equates different forms of the exam, the 70 is a standard rather than a fixed count of correct answers; aim well above it in practice. The night before, read the one-page cheat sheet once and stop.
What has changed since I sat it in March 2024
- Current question count. FINRA’s current content outline specifies 75 scored and 5 unscored items. Use that 80-item total for practice pacing.
- A higher fee. FINRA’s fee schedule lists the SIE at $80 for 2025 and $100 for 2026, and the qualification exams page now states $100. Budget for the current figure, not the one in an older prep book.
- A retake change that is not in force yet. FINRA has amended Rule 1210 to shorten the retake waits, but says the shorter waits are not yet in effect for candidates; the section on failing below has the details.
Registration, the $100 fee and the four-year clock
The SIE is open to anyone 18 or older, and FINRA states that association with a firm is not required to take it and that there is no prerequisite exam; Rule 1210 says individuals who are not associated persons are eligible. That is the strategic point of the exam: a candidate can pass it before a firm hires them, and the result remains valid for four years.
Passing the SIE alone does not register you with FINRA. The SIE is a corequisite for FINRA’s representative-level exams, such as the Series 7 and the Series 6 (the full list is on the FINRA Series exams page), and a firm must sponsor that top-off exam. The Series 7 versus SIE comparison sets out how the two exams divide the material; the state-law exams such as the Series 63 are NASAA’s and sit alongside both.
If the first attempt does not pass
The waiting periods in force today are 30 and 180 calendar days: a person who fails a FINRA qualification examination may take it again after 30 calendar days from the last attempt, and a person who fails three or more times in succession within a two-year period must wait 180 calendar days. FINRA has amended Rule 1210’s Supplementary Material .06 to cut them to 15 and 60 days, and the rule text on finra.org already reads 15 and 60, but FINRA says the reduced waiting periods are not yet in effect for candidates and will announce the implementation date in a future regulatory notice.
Use the wait to rebuild the table above around the sections that failed. If the miss was in Products, the plan is unchanged and simply repeats its longest row; if it was in Trading and Prohibited Activities, the fix is rule detail, and the Trading questions in the practice bank, taken as timed sets, are the shortest route back.
On difficulty, the only pass rates are historical and secondhand: 74% as of March 31, 2019, and about 72% through the end of April 2019, figures Knopman Marks reported from a 2019 FINRA conference. The SIE pass rate article explains what that number can and cannot tell a 2026 candidate, and the SIE exam guide carries the registration steps and fees in one place.
What the cited data shows
Source: FINRA — FINRA SIE Exam.
| Document | Effective date | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| FINRA: FINRA Qualification Examination Fee Adjustment Schedule | 2026-01-01 | 2026-07-23 |
| FINRA: FINRA Reduces Waiting Periods for Retaking Qualification Exams | Not stated | 2026-09-25 |
| FINRA: FINRA Rule 1210 — Registration Requirements (SIE Eligibility) | Not stated | 2026-07-18 |
| FINRA: FINRA Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam | Not stated | 2026-09-30 |
| FINRA: Schedule an Exam | Not stated | 2026-09-09 |
| FINRA: Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Content Outline | 2025-10-27 | 2026-07-23 |
| FINRA: Series 7 — General Securities Representative Exam | Not stated | 2026-07-18 |
| FINRA: SIE Content Outline — Section Weighting | Not stated | 2026-07-18 |
| FINRA: SIE Exam Overview | Not stated | 2026-07-05 |
| Knopman Marks — firsthand conference reporting: 2019 FINRA conference report by Marcia Larson | Not stated | 2026-09-06 |
Free SIE practice test — 709 questions, instant feedback. No signup required.
Sources
- 1.Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam — content outline sections, eligibility, fee, validity — Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) (accessed Sep 15, 2026)
- 2.Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Content Outline (October 2025) — structure of the exam — Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) (accessed Sep 15, 2026)
- 3.Qualification Examination Fee Adjustment Schedule (SR-FINRA-2024-019) — Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) (accessed Sep 15, 2026)
- 4.FINRA Rule 1210 — Registration Requirements, Supplementary Material .06 Waiting Periods — Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) (accessed Sep 15, 2026)
- 5.Schedule an Exam — Prometric test delivery — Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) (accessed Sep 15, 2026)
- 6.Qualification Exams — SIE co-requisite and $100 fee — Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) (accessed Sep 15, 2026)
- 7.2019 FINRA conference report — SIE pass rate as of March 31, 2019 — Knopman Marks Financial Training (accessed Sep 15, 2026)
Frequently asked questions
How long should I study for the SIE exam?
I studied for three to four weeks, an hour or two on weekdays and a little more on weekends, and passed on my first attempt in March 2024. FINRA publishes no required study time. The plan in this article is 40 hours split in FINRA’s outline proportions: 18 hours on Products, 12 on Trading and Accounts, 6 on Capital Markets and 4 on the Regulatory Framework, which is four weeks at two hours a weekday.
Is the SIE more about math or concepts?
In my experience, concepts. The exam I took felt more conceptual than calculation-heavy: knowing how products differ, their risks, the regulations and what a registered representative can and cannot do mattered more than memorizing details. FINRA’s outline gives Understanding Products and Their Risks 44% of the scored questions and Trading, Customer Accounts and Prohibited Activities 31%.
Does the SIE have 75 or 80 questions?
FINRA’s current content outline specifies 75 scored items plus 5 unidentified pretest items, for 80 total, with 105 minutes allowed.
Can I take the SIE without a sponsoring firm?
Yes. FINRA opens the SIE to anyone 18 or older, association with a firm is not required, and Rule 1210 makes individuals who are not associated persons eligible. Passing the SIE alone does not register you; a firm sponsors the representative-level exam that follows, and the SIE result stays valid for four years.
Should I take the SIE online or at a test center?
FINRA offers both: appointments are scheduled with Prometric, at a Prometric test center or online. I chose a test center because I preferred a controlled environment and didn’t want to worry about technical issues with online proctoring.
How long do I have to wait to retake the SIE after failing?
The wait in force today is 30 calendar days after a failed attempt, and a candidate who fails three or more times in succession within a two-year period waits 180 calendar days. FINRA has amended Rule 1210’s Supplementary Material .06 to cut these to 15 and 60 days, but the shorter waits are not yet in effect and FINRA will announce the implementation date in a regulatory notice.
