FINRA’s current content outline specifies 75 scored items plus 5 unidentified pretest items, for 80 displayed items in 105 minutes. Those are the counts to use when checking a study guide or planning practice timing.
Current format
The FINRA content outline is the source for the current item count and time limit.
| Current specification | Value from FINRA’s outline |
|---|---|
| Scored items | 75 |
| Unscored items | 5 |
| Time allowed | 105 minutes |
2026 exam fees
FINRA’s fee adjustment schedule lists the SIE fee at $100 for 2026. The schedule lists $80 for the SIE in 2025, so a guide still quoting $80 as the current SIE fee needs that figure corrected.
How to check an older study resource
Compare its format and fees with the two FINRA documents linked above. Then check whether its rule discussions cite a version that still applies. A correct question count does not prove that every rule in a book is current, and an outdated fee does not prove that every lesson is wrong.
What to change in practice
Build timing drills around all 80 displayed items, not only the 75 that are scored. FINRA’s outline says pretest items are unidentified. For a timing drill, mark whether a delay came from the scenario, the rule or the calculation, then work on that specific gap.
Use the SIE study guide for explanations and the free practice questions to apply them. A practice result is not a calibrated FINRA score; a question count alone does not measure exam difficulty.
What the cited data shows
| Document | Effective date | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| FINRA: FINRA Qualification Examination Fee Adjustment Schedule | 2026-01-01 | 2026-07-23 |
| FINRA: Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Content Outline | 2025-10-27 | 2026-07-23 |
| FINRA: Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam | Not stated | 2026-07-18 |
| FINRA: Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Examination — Content Outline | Not stated | 2026-07-18 |
Free SIE practice test — 709 questions, instant feedback. No signup required.
Sources
- 1.Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Content Outline — FINRA (accessed Jul 23, 2026)
- 2.Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam — FINRA (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
- 3.FINRA Qualification Examination Fee Adjustment Schedule — FINRA (accessed Jul 23, 2026)
- 4.Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Examination — Content Outline — FINRA (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
Frequently asked questions
How should I time a SIE practice session?
FINRA’s SIE outline includes 75 scored items and 5 unidentified pretest items in 105 minutes. Use all 80 displayed items when budgeting practice time; this timing drill does not predict a FINRA score.
What fee should I check in an older SIE study guide?
FINRA’s fee adjustment schedule lists the SIE at $80 for 2025 and $100 for 2026. Check the year attached to the quoted fee.