The short answer: in Texas the course is not optional. The state requires 180 hours of qualifying education before you can sit the sales agent exam, which is why these packages cost hundreds rather than tens of dollars. Based on provider-owned pages checked on August 18, 2026, Colibri lists packages from $299, AceableAgent's Basic is $449, and Kaplan's Licensing with Exam Prep package is $499.
Budget for regulator and testing fees separately from tuition. The current Pearson VUE candidate handbook lists the Texas sales examination at $58. Provider cost summaries can group or label other charges differently, so confirm application and fingerprint costs directly with TREC when you apply.
Best Texas real estate courses for 2026: our picks
- Lowest advertised entry price: Colibri — packages from $299.
- Best no-discount-games pricing: AceableAgent Basic — $449, advertised at a 0% discount.
- Best course-plus-exam-prep bundle: Kaplan — Texas Licensing with Exam Prep at $499.
At-a-glance comparison
| Provider | Compared package | List price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Colibri | Entry package | From $299 | Colibri states its Texas packages run $627–$1,227 in total cost terms |
| AceableAgent | Basic | $449 | 180-hour state-approved course; no advertised discount on this tier |
| AceableAgent | Deluxe / Premium | $649 / $1,119 list | Advertised at 20% and 40% off; pass-or-money-back guarantee |
| Kaplan | Texas Licensing with Exam Prep (180 hours) | $499 | Career Launcher package is $899 |
Read the discounts carefully
AceableAgent is the clearest example of why list price matters. Its Basic package is $449 and carries an advertised discount of 0%. Its Deluxe is listed at $649 with a 20% promotion, and its Premium at $1,119 with a 40% promotion. The promoted prices are lower than the Basic-to-Premium ladder suggests, but a discount that is applied today may not be applied when you buy.
We rank on list price for that reason. If a promotion is live when you check out, it is a bonus rather than a basis for choosing a school.
Kaplan — the bundle that includes exam prep
Kaplan's Texas Licensing with Exam Prep package is $499 for the 180 credit hours, and the Career Launcher package is $899. The distinction worth understanding is that qualifying education and exam prep are two different things: the 180 hours satisfy the state, and exam prep is what gets you through the test at the end. A package that bundles both removes a second purchase decision.
Colibri — cheapest headline, read the total
Colibri advertises Texas packages from $299, the lowest headline in this comparison. Its own page also states that a Texas course or package at Colibri costs between $627 and $1,227 depending on the package. Both figures are from the provider; they describe different things, and the gap between them is the reason to price the specific package you intend to buy rather than the number in the headline.
The fee table on a school's site is not the state's fee table
Colibri publishes a Texas cost breakdown listing a $185 background check, $205 in salesperson license fees and $185 in examination fees. The last of those does not match the regulator: the TREC sales agent exam fee is $58. The $185 line most likely describes the application fee under an examination label.
This is worth knowing beyond one school's page. Cost breakdowns on prep-school sites are marketing collateral, and they bundle, round and relabel. Price the course from the school and the fees from TREC.
What the 180 hours are actually for
Texas requires 180 classroom hours of qualifying real estate education before you can sit the exam. The exam itself allows 240 minutes and is scored on 80 national items plus 40 state items.
The first-time pass rate is 56.12 percent — meaning nearly half of first-time candidates do not pass. That figure is the strongest argument in this comparison for paying for exam prep rather than only the 180 hours: the hours satisfy the state, and something else has to get you through a test that fails almost half the room.
What you will actually spend
Course plus state costs is the number that matters. At the cheap end that is roughly $299 of tuition plus the TREC fees, of which the exam is $58. At the top of the AceableAgent ladder, list pricing alone is $1,119 before any of it. The state's share is fixed whichever school you choose; the school's share is where your decision actually lives.
How we compared, and what this leaves out
We used current public list prices from provider-owned pages, read on August 18, 2026, alongside TREC-sourced figures for the exam itself. We excluded provider-reported pass rates; the 56.12 percent above is the official first-time figure, not a school's claim.
Pricing notes and limitations
Champions School is a significant Texas provider and is not compared here because its pricing is not readable on its own public course page — the omission is deliberate rather than an oversight, and it means this comparison is partial. Colibri's headline "from $299" and its own stated $627–$1,227 range describe different things, so price the specific package you intend to buy. AceableAgent's Deluxe and Premium prices above are list prices carrying advertised 20% and 40% promotions; a promotion live today may not be live when you check out. Prices change without notice.
What the cited data shows
The charts below use only figures from the sources this article cites. A chart is left out where no source publishes the figure.
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Sales exam fee | $58 | Pearson VUE / TREC |
| Basic (2026) | $449 | AceableAgent |
| Deluxe list (2026) | $649 | AceableAgent |
| Premium list (2026) | $1119 | AceableAgent |
| Packages from (2026) | $299 | Colibri Real Estate |
| Total cost range (2026) | 627-1227 | Colibri Real Estate |
| Career launcher (2026) | $899 | Kaplan Real Estate Education |
| Licensing exam prep (2026) | $499 | Kaplan Real Estate Education |
| Exam fee | $58 | Pearson VUE / TREC |
| Document | Effective date | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| AceableAgent: AceableAgent Texas Real Estate License Packages | 2026-08-18 | 2026-08-19 |
| Colibri Real Estate: Colibri Texas Real Estate License Courses | 2026-08-18 | 2026-08-19 |
| Kaplan Real Estate Education: Kaplan Texas Real Estate Licensing Courses | 2026-08-18 | 2026-08-19 |
| Pearson VUE / TREC: Texas Real Estate Candidate Handbook, September 2026 | Not stated | 2026-09-07 |
| Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC): Become a Real Estate Sales Agent | Not stated | 2026-07-18 |
| TREC: Provider Exam Passage Rates for Sales Agents and Brokers | 2025-11-30 | 2026-07-21 |
Free Texas Real Estate Sales Agent practice test — 132 questions, instant feedback. No signup required.
Sources
- 1.Texas Real Estate Candidate Handbook (#094400) — Pearson VUE (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
- 2.AceableAgent Texas Real Estate License Packages — AceableAgent (accessed Aug 19, 2026)
- 3.Colibri Texas Real Estate License Courses — Colibri Real Estate (accessed Aug 19, 2026)
- 4.Kaplan Texas Real Estate Licensing Courses — Kaplan Real Estate Education (accessed Aug 19, 2026)
- 5.Become a Real Estate Sales Agent — Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Texas real estate license course cost?
Between roughly $299 and $1,119 in list terms. Colibri advertises packages from $299, AceableAgent's Basic is $449, Kaplan's Licensing with Exam Prep package is $499, and AceableAgent's Premium is listed at $1,119 before promotions. Texas requires 180 hours of qualifying education, so the course is a legal prerequisite rather than optional prep.
What are the Texas real estate fees on top of the course?
Read them from TREC rather than from a school's cost table. The TREC sales agent exam fee is $58. Colibri's own breakdown lists a background check at $185 and salesperson license fees at $205, but also lists examination fees at $185, which does not match the regulator — that line most likely describes the application fee under an examination label.
Is the cheapest Texas real estate course good enough?
All approved providers deliver the same 180 classroom hours of qualifying education, so the regulatory floor is identical whatever you pay. What extra money buys is exam prep, tutoring, guarantees and career support — and with a first-time pass rate of 56.12 percent, exam prep is the part most worth paying for. If you only need the hours, the cheapest approved package satisfies the state.
What is a pass-or-money-back guarantee worth?
It is worth reading the conditions. AceableAgent advertises one on its higher tiers, and guarantees in this category typically require completing the course and its practice material before a refund applies. Treat it as a hedge on a package you would buy anyway, not as a reason to move up a tier.
Why is Champions School not in this comparison?
Because its prices are not readable on its own public course page, so we could not verify them from the provider. It is a significant Texas provider and its absence is a limitation of this comparison, not a judgment about the school.
