The short answer: the Series 7 course market runs from $139 to $1,110, with differences in included materials, teaching, support and access periods. These are dated listed prices, not current checkout quotes. Based on provider-owned pages checked on August 18, 2026, Achievable is the self-paced value pick at $199 for a full year, Kaplan fits a manual-and-QBank workflow from $139 to $309, and Knopman Marks sells faculty access at $480 to $1,110.
This is a desk comparison of published list prices, access periods and included tools. We did not enrol in every product. We excluded provider-reported pass rates, because no provider publishes a comparable denominator, and we excluded temporary promotional pricing from the ranking.
Best Series 7 courses for 2026: our picks
- Best self-study value: Achievable — $199, with a full year of access.
- Best manual-and-QBank workflow: Kaplan — packages from $139 to $309, five months of access.
- Best faculty support: Knopman Marks — Gold $480, Platinum $710, Diamond $1,110, all with one year of access.
At-a-glance comparison
| Provider | Compared package(s) | List price | Access | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Achievable | Series 7 course (single tier) | $199 | Full year | Self-directed candidates who want one price and no tier maths |
| Kaplan | Premium OnDemand / Premium Live Online | $279 / $309 (range $139–$309) | 5 months | Candidates who want a licence exam manual plus a QBank |
| Knopman Marks | S7 Gold / Platinum / Diamond | $480 / $710 / $1,110 | One year | Candidates who will actually use faculty time |
Achievable — one price, one tier, twelve months
Achievable sells a single Series 7 product at $199 with a full year of access, listing more than 3,700 quiz questions, 35+ full-length practice exams and 39+ bonus videos. The absence of a tier ladder is the point: there is nothing to compare and no upgrade decision to get wrong.
It suits a candidate who is comfortable setting their own schedule. If scheduled live instruction is central to how you learn, this is the wrong shape of product regardless of price.
Kaplan — the cheapest entry point, and the shortest window
Kaplan's Series 7 packages span $139 to $309. The Premium OnDemand package is $279 and Premium Live Online is $309. The detail that matters more than either number: the online access period is five months, and an extension costs $49.
That changes the arithmetic. A candidate who studies part-time around a full-time job and needs a seventh month is comparing $309 plus $49 against Achievable's $199 for twelve months. Kaplan's entry tier is the cheapest way into this market; its top tier is not the cheapest way to finish.
Knopman Marks — you are buying people, not content
Knopman Marks is the premium end: S7 Gold at $480, Platinum at $710 and Diamond at $1,110, each with one year of access. The ladder is built around escalating human contact — faculty-led Q&A, adaptive flashcards on the most-tested topics, and at the Diamond tier a dedicated advisor with weekly calls and a custom study plan.
This is worth it precisely when you will use it. Paying Diamond prices and never booking the weekly call is the most expensive mistake available in this category. It is also worth checking whether your employer already provides a course: some firms do. FINRA requires Series 7 candidates to be associated with and sponsored by a FINRA member firm or another applicable SRO member firm. Buying a prep course does not satisfy that requirement.
What the price spread actually buys
The cited $199 and $1,110 packages differ by $911, or about 5.6 times in price. That arithmetic does not establish a difference in teaching quality or question quality. Compare the actual support you will use, included materials, access period and refund conditions before choosing a package.
Budget the exam fees, not just the course
The Series 7 exam fee is $395, and the exam has a corequisite: candidates must pass both the Series 7 and the SIE to obtain the General Securities registration. The SIE costs a further $100. That is $495 in FINRA fees for a first-time candidate, before a single course is bought; only the $395 Series 7 fee repeats if you need a retake.
Which reframes the course decision. Against $495 of unavoidable fees, the gap between a $199 course and a $309 one is small; the gap between passing and resitting is not. That is the argument for buying enough course rather than the cheapest one — and equally the argument against buying a $1,110 package you will not use.
What you are preparing for
The Series 7 administers 130 questions, of which 125 are scored and 5 are unscored pretest items, in 225 minutes. The passing score is 72 percent. Every provider in this comparison builds its question bank against that structure, which is why bank size is a weak differentiator: even Achievable's 3,700+ questions are far more than you can work through in a five-month window.
What differs is what happens when you get one wrong. Explanation quality, and whether there is a human to ask, is the real product difference between the $199 tier and the $1,110 one.
How we compared, and what this leaves out
We used current public list prices, stated access periods, and the practice tools each provider lists on its own product page, all read on August 18, 2026. We excluded provider-reported pass rates and promotional pricing from the ranking.
Pricing notes and limitations
Three limitations worth stating plainly. This is desk research: we did not enrol in every product, so we compare what providers publish, not the experience of using them. The comparison covers three providers, not the whole market — STC and ExamFX both sell Series 7 courses and are not compared here because their current package pricing was not readable from their public pages when we checked. And prices in this category change without notice, including mid-promotion, so treat every figure here as a starting point and confirm on the provider's page before you buy.
What the cited data shows
The charts below use only figures from the sources this article cites. A chart is left out where no source publishes the figure.
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| SIE fee | $100 | FINRA |
| Exam fee | $395 | FINRA |
| Price (2026) | $199 | Achievable |
| Package range (2026) | 139-309 | Kaplan Financial Education |
| Premium live price (2026) | $309 | Kaplan Financial Education |
| Premium ondemand price (2026) | $279 | Kaplan Financial Education |
| Extension price | $49 | Kaplan Financial Education |
| Gold price (2026) | $480 | Knopman Marks Financial Training |
| Platinum price (2026) | $710 | Knopman Marks Financial Training |
| Diamond price (2026) | $1110 | Knopman Marks Financial Training |
| Document | Effective date | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Achievable: Achievable FINRA Series 7 Exam Prep | 2026-08-18 | 2026-08-19 |
| FINRA: Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam | Not stated | 2026-07-18 |
| FINRA: Series 7 Content Outline, October 2025 | Not stated | 2026-09-09 |
| FINRA: Series 7 General Securities Representative Exam | Not stated | 2026-09-06 |
| Kaplan Financial Education: Kaplan Series 7 Exam Prep & Study Packages | 2026-08-18 | 2026-08-19 |
| Knopman Marks Financial Training: Knopman Marks Series 7 Course Packages | 2026-08-18 | 2026-08-19 |
Free Series 7 practice test — 200 questions, instant feedback. No signup required.
Sources
- 1.Achievable FINRA Series 7 Exam Prep — Achievable (accessed Aug 19, 2026)
- 2.Kaplan Series 7 Exam Prep & Study Packages — Kaplan Financial Education (accessed Aug 19, 2026)
- 3.Knopman Marks Series 7 Course Packages — Knopman Marks Financial Training (accessed Aug 19, 2026)
- 4.Series 7 General Securities Representative Exam — FINRA (accessed Sep 6, 2026)
- 5.Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam — FINRA (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
- 6.Series 7 Content Outline, October 2025 — FINRA (accessed Sep 8, 2026)
Frequently asked questions
What does Series 7 prep cost across Achievable, Kaplan and Knopman Marks?
Achievable prices its single tier at $199. Kaplan's packages run from $139 to $309, with a premium on-demand tier at $279 and a premium live tier at $309. Knopman Marks spans further: Gold runs $480, Platinum $710, and Diamond $1,110. The range above $199 mainly buys added human instruction and support — we did not compare each provider's question-bank size.
Which Series 7 course gives the most time before access expires?
Achievable gives 12 months of access for $199. Kaplan's standard window runs 5 months, with a $49 extension if you need more time, a real cost difference for anyone studying part-time. Confirm Knopman Marks' access window directly with Knopman Marks before comparing it against either option.
Is Knopman Marks' $1,110 Diamond package worth it over a $199 single-tier course?
Only if the live-instruction hours actually get used. Kaplan's and Achievable's entry tiers cover the same core exam content as Knopman Marks' priciest package; what Diamond adds is direct instructor access, a dedicated advisor, and live scheduled calls, not a materially bigger question bank underneath. Skip those calls and you're paying for support you never touch.
Will my sponsoring firm pay for a Series 7 course?
It varies by firm. The Series 7 already requires firm sponsorship, and some sponsoring firms cover or reimburse an approved prep course as part of onboarding a new representative, while others do not. Ask your firm's registration or training department before buying Achievable, Kaplan, or Knopman Marks out of pocket.
How does our free Series 7 bank compare to what Achievable, Kaplan and Knopman Marks charge for?
Our bank publishes 200 Series 7 questions across all seven exam categories at no cost, covering the same core function paid providers charge $199 to $1,110 for. What the paid tiers add is bundled video lessons, live faculty and a longer access window. Use our bank first to see how much of that you actually need.
