Every Exam PrepFREE EXAM PREP
Ask AI

Series 7 Exam Cost in 2026: The Full Bill

Written by Every Exam Prep Editorial TeamSource and review policyPublished September 16, 2026
Verified against the official exam documentation

The Series 7 exam fee is $395. That is the number FINRA publishes, and it is the number almost every article about Series 7 costs stops at. It is also not what it costs to become a General Securities Representative, because the $395 buys you one of two exams you are required to pass.

The Securities Industry Essentials exam is a co-requisite: FINRA requires candidates to pass both the Series 7 and the SIE to obtain the General Securities registration. The SIE costs $100. So the realistic figure to plan around is $495 in exam fees, and the only way it is $395 is if you have already passed the SIE and paid for it separately.

What the registration actually costs

ItemCostNotes
SIE exam$100Co-requisite. Can be taken before you have an employer.
Series 7 exam$395Requires firm sponsorship to register.
Study materialsnot publishedVaries by provider; free material exists.
Fingerprinting / background checknot publishedNormally handled and paid by the sponsoring firm.
Exam fees, total$495Both exams, first attempt each.

Only the two exam fees are added into that total. The other rows are real costs that FINRA does not publish a figure for, and inventing one would make the total look precise rather than make it true.

Where the Series 7 sits among FINRA's fees

FINRA's qualification exam fees run from $90 to $450 depending on the exam. At $395 the Series 7 sits near the top of that range, which is consistent with what it covers: 125 scored questions over 225 minutes, against the SIE's 75 scored questions. You are not paying more for a harder pass mark — the Series 7 requires 72% and the SIE 70% — you are paying for a longer exam with a much wider scope.

Each Series 7 sitting also administers 5 unscored pretest questions mixed in with the scored ones, so 130 questions appear on screen. They do not affect your result and are not a separate charge; they are FINRA trialling future items on your time. Note the number if you are working from older material — FINRA's October 2025 content outline halved the pretest count on both the Series 7 and the SIE, so guides describing 135 questions predate it.

What the fee does not include

The exam fee buys the seat and the scoring. It does not buy preparation, and it does not buy the registration itself — passing is a qualification, not a licence. Three things candidates routinely forget to budget for:

  • Preparation. Commercial Series 7 courses are priced by the provider, not by FINRA, and the range is wide. Free material exists, including full practice banks, so this is the one line you can take to zero if you are disciplined.
  • Your own time. 225 minutes is the exam. The preparation is measured in weeks, and if you are working while you study, that is the largest real cost on this page.
  • A second attempt. FINRA publishes the fee per exam enrollment. A retake is a new enrollment, so plan on the fee again rather than on a discounted second try.

Who actually pays

The split usually follows the sponsorship rule. The Series 7 requires a sponsoring firm to register you for it, and firms that sponsor candidates generally pay the exam fee as part of onboarding — which is why so few Series 7 candidates ever see the $395 leave their own account.

The SIE is the opposite case. It can be taken without an employer, which is exactly why people take it first, and that $100 is usually the candidate's own money. If you are preparing to interview rather than already hired, treat $100 as your real out-of-pocket cost and the $395 as something to negotiate at offer stage.

What to budget

If you have no employer yet: $100 for the SIE, plus whatever you choose to spend on preparation. That is the whole gate you control.

If you are hired and your firm sponsors you: assume the firm covers the $395, ask whether it also covers a retake, and confirm before you schedule.

If you are paying for everything yourself: $495 in exam fees for a clean run at both, and a realistic contingency of one more exam fee in case a first attempt does not land.

Before you spend anything on a course, sit a full practice exam and find out where you actually are. Our free Series 7 practice test is the cheapest diagnostic available, and the answer it gives you is what should decide how much preparation is worth buying.

Original source visualizations

What the cited data shows

Built from the official facts cited in this article. Missing values are omitted, not estimated.

Official fee breakdown
ItemAmountSource
Exam Fee$395FINRA
Exam Fee RangeFINRA qualification exam fees range from $90 to $450 depending on the examFINRA
Sie Fee$100FINRA
Official-source update comparison
DocumentEffective dateChecked
FINRA: FINRA Qualification Exams OverviewNot stated2026-07-18
FINRA: Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) ExamNot stated2026-07-18
FINRA: Series 7 Content Outline, October 2025Not stated2026-09-09
FINRA: Series 7 Exam OverviewNot stated2026-07-05
Ready to test yourself?

Free Series 7 practice test — 200 questions, instant feedback. No signup required.

Start practicing →

Sources

  1. 1.Series 7 – General Securities Representative ExamFINRA (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
  2. 2.Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) ExamFINRA (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
  3. 3.Series 7 Content Outline, October 2025FINRA (accessed Sep 9, 2026)
  4. 4.FINRA Qualification Exams OverviewFINRA (accessed Jul 18, 2026)
  5. 5.Enroll for a FINRA ExamFINRA

Frequently asked questions

How much does the Series 7 exam cost in 2026?

The Series 7 exam fee is $395. That is the fee for the Series 7 alone, and it is not the whole cost of qualifying — the SIE is a co-requisite at $100, so a candidate who has not already passed the SIE is looking at $495 in exam fees.

Do I have to pay for the SIE as well?

Yes, unless you have already passed it. FINRA requires candidates to pass both the Series 7 and the SIE to obtain the General Securities registration qualification. The SIE costs $100 and can be taken without an employer, which is why most candidates pay for it themselves and sit it first.

Does my firm pay the Series 7 fee?

Usually. The Series 7 requires a sponsoring firm to register you, and firms that sponsor candidates generally cover the exam fee as part of onboarding. Ask specifically whether a retake is covered too, and confirm before you schedule rather than after.

What does a Series 7 retake cost?

FINRA publishes the fee per exam enrollment, and a retake is a new enrollment, so budget the fee again rather than a discounted second attempt. If you are paying your own way, carrying one extra exam fee as contingency is the realistic plan.

Is the Series 7 the most expensive FINRA exam?

Not quite, but it is near the top. FINRA's qualification exam fees range from $90 to $450 depending on the exam, and at $395 the Series 7 sits in the upper part of that band — consistent with 125 scored questions over 225 minutes.

What is not included in the exam fee?

Preparation and registration. The fee buys the seat and the scoring; study materials are priced by whichever provider you choose, and passing is a qualification rather than a licence. Free practice material exists, so preparation is the one line you can take to zero.